Past Research Programs

2017 reu fellows

2017 REU students in order of Left to Right: Taylor Hernandez, Hillary Pan, Isaac (Zhiren) Zheng, and Savannah Downing

2017 iaf fellows

2017 IAF fellows in order of Left to Right: Tyler Feger, Richard Szeligowski, Jerome Frey, Errol Van Lange, and Farrah Kelly










2017 CRISP Research Experience for Undergraduates

MIMER Team 1:
Zhiren (Isaac) Zheng – Growth and Characterizations of Atomic-thick Topological Crystalline Insulator SnTe Films
Taylor Hernandez – Creating Tunable Substrates for 2D Bilayer Silica through Molecular Beam Epitaxy
MIMER Team 2:
Savannah Downing – Synthesis of In-doped SnTe Nanowires
Hillary Pan – Characterizing Fracture Toughness for Titanium and Zirconium-based Bulk Metallic Glasses

2017 SCSU Industry Academic Fellowship

Errol Van Lange – Quantifying the Extent of Fibrillation for Cellulose-Based Water Filters
Tyler Feger – Characterization of Sucrose Ultrastructure in Iron Sucrose Complex Nanoparticles
Richard Szeligowski – Fluorescent Spectroscopy of Breast Tissue for Differentiation Between Healthy and Malignant Tissue
Atarrah Kelly – Determination ofNanotubes within Lanreotide Powder when in Solution with of Various Solvents
Jerome Frey – Thin Film Deposition and Carbon Nanotube Synthesis

2016 CRISP Research Experience for Undergraduates

MIMER Team 1:
Grace Genszler – Formation of the High Temperature Superconductor Iron(II) Selenide Grown on Convex Strontium Titanium Oxide Substrates
Hope McGovern – Manipulating Spin Polarization in Spintronic Devices with Four Logic States
David Hynek – Investigation of NiPd(111) alloys as substrates for thin-film SiO2 growth
MIMER Team 2:
Sabrine Bensouda – Investigating osteogenic differentiation of human Mesenchymal Stem Cells on Bulk Metallic Glass
Laura Bancroft – Synthesis of Thermotropic, Hexagonal Columnar Liquid Crystalline Acceptor Molecules for Photon Upconversion
Emile Motta de Castro – Solvothermally Synthesized WTe2 Nanostructures for Electrocatalytic Hydrogen Evolution Reaction
MIMER Team 3:
Alberto Ortiz – Reduction of Graphene Oxide through Thermal Annealing to remove Oxygen and Functional Groups to Obtain a Highly Conductive Material
Alfred Baah – Promoting Energy Efficiency Using Sensors and Building Models
Caitlin Hansen – Image Processing of Nanoparticle TEM Images to Investigate Sameness

2016 SCSU Industry Academic Fellowship

David Uhl – Optimization of Lyocell Fiber Sample Preparation for Scanning Electron Microscopy
Lela Jackson – Determination of the Presence of Lanreotide Nanotubes in Powder Form and Effect of pH on Nanotube Length Using Microscopy Image Analysis
Farah Mahmoud – The Characterization of Iron Sucrose Nano-Particles
Felipe Gallego – Exploring methods to isolate and characterize cellulose-based fibers

2015 CRISP Research Experience for Undergraduates

MIMER Team 1:
Alberto Ortiz – Synthesis of LaNiO3 and Superlattice with Oxygen Annealing at Different Temperatures to Improve its Electromagnetic Properties of Conduction
Jessica Murdzek – Atomically Flat BaSnO3 Surface as a Novel Substrate for Epitaxial Films Growth
Michael Onyszczak – A Schrödinger Poisson Solver for Oxide Interfaces
MIMER Team 2:
Valeria Aucapina – Scalable Growth of Zinc Oxide Nanorods on Brass Substrates Templated Through Block Copolymer Self Assembly
Stephanie Wyche – Size Dependence on Critical Heating and Cooling Rates in Bulk Metallic Glass Nano-rods
Mariyah Pressley – High throughput screening of bulk metallic glass libraries for antibacterial activity
Jason Hughes – Changes in Thin Film Metallic Glass Microstructures Upon Annealing in the Supercooled Liquid Region
Jasmine Towns – Investigating the activation characteristics of BV2 microglial cells
MIMER Team 3:
Saparja Nag – Synthesis and Characterization of Magnetic Contrast Agent Liposomes for Biomedical Imaging Applications

2015 SCSU Industry Academic Fellowship

Katherine Perez – Characterization of Iron Sucrose Nanoparticles Using Transmission Electron Microscopy
Paul Klaucke – Optimization of Lanreotide Sample Preparation for Transmission Electron Microscopy
Hang Pham – Characterization of Sucrose Shell of Iron Sucrose Using Atomic Force Microscopy
Peter Litwin – Assessing Microsphere Contamination in New Haven Harbor
Stephen Cusumano – Optimal Transition Electron Microscopy Preparation of Self Assembling Peptide Nanotubes

2014 CRISP Research Experience for Undergraduates

MIMER Team 1:
Jeffrey Guevara – Growing and Characterizing 2D Silica Bilayers on Graphene Epitaxially Grown on Ruthenium(0001)/Sapphire
Benjamin Huber – Photodiode powered, piezoelectric actuated solar tracker for use with CPC solar cells
Peter Litwin – Using the FIB and AFM to Assist in the Creation of a FeFET
Robert Polski – Piezo actuated solar tracker poweredexclusively by a photodiode array
Margaret McCarter – Studying the properties of PbZr0.2Ti0.8O3 and LaNiO3 for use in ferroelectric field-effect transistors and neuromorphic devices
MIMER Team 2:
Sydney Corona – Development of a Biosensor Electrode using Nanopatterned Bulk Metallic Glass
Bradley Dice – The Glass-forming Ability and Packing Efficiency of Ternary Hard Sphere Mixtures as Model Bulk Metallic Glasses
Christopher Jarvis – Design of a Python-based Bulk Metallic Glass Online Database
MIMER Team 3:
Michael Davis – Experimental Morphology and Spatial Density Alteration of Zinc Oxide Nanorod Arrays grown using Block Copolymer Self-Assembly Micelle Monolayering
Hang Pham – Optimization of EDS Instrument Parameters for the Creation of a Compositional Database for Bulk Metallic Glasses

2014 SCSU Industry Academic Fellowship

Caitlin Hansen – AFM of Bulk Metallic Glasses to Determining the Biocompatibility for Stent Design
Alexis Ernst – Optimizing Surface Characterization of BMG’s using Electron Microscopy
Archibald Agyekum-Yamoah – Characterization of Nanoparticles for Environmental Applications
Kevin Dahlberg – Patterned Deposition of Nanoparticles Using Dip Pen Nanolithography For Synthesis of Carbon Nanotubes
Mohd Hossain – Surface topography of BMGs, Unpolished and Electro Polished Stainless Steel

2013 CRISP Research Experience for Undergraduates

MIMER Team 1:
Alex Bruch – High Finesse Cavity for Characterizing the Optical Loss in Thin Films of Barium Titanate
Jaylissa Torres – Co and Zr oxides/ Si (001) Epitaxial Growth and Surface Analysis: Ultra High Vacuum System Validation
Alexis Morris – Description of the Behaviors and Electron Correlation in LaNiO3 and NdNiO3 Through First Principles Theory
Peter Lowrie – X-Ray Vision: An Analysis of SiO2 Thickness using the Principles of X-Ray Reflectivity
MIMER Team 2:
Rebecca Betances – Cellular Responses to Nanopatterned Bulk Metallic Glasses
Stephen Vicchio – Combinatorial Study of the Dealloying of Au/Ag/Pd Metal Alloys for Improved Fuel Cell Catalysts
Hassan Omar – Development of Bulk Metallic Glasses and Experimental Calibration of Blow Molding Procedures
Dorcas Huang – Modeling Cell Response to Nanopatterned Bulk Metallic Glass
MIMER Team 3:
Jana Dodson – SEM and EDS Characterization of Bulk Metallic Glass
Melissa Kreider – Synthesis of a Dense, High Aspect Ratio Zinc Oxide Nanowire Forest Using the PS-PMMA Block Copolymer
Alexis Ernst – Transmission Electron Microscopy Specimen Preparation of Bulk Metallic Glasses
Eric Gossett – Computational Methods For The Characterization of BMG Through Python Scripting